Pavlov's Couch

A Psychology Student's Mental Experience

The Long Road

While talking to Sammy I had a major epiphany. I think I know now why I am so miserable in my job…
“I don’t feel like I’m giving any good to the world. Not helping anyone, not making any kind of impact. If I keep in this job I’ll be working for the sake of the money, make no difference to anyones lives, bring no particular joy, and leave no legacy. When I go I’ll just be replaced and no one will care or remember. And I will have done nothing useful with my life.”
With each day that passes I’m thinking more seriously about retraining as a counselling psychologist.
2007-07-23 15:28:00

That was how it started, seven years ago. It took three years before I managed to get out of my debts and build the confidence to leave my job, an then I started doing a degree in Psychology. Four years later, this week, I got and email confirming that I have received a 2.1 classification in Psychology with Professional Development.

It has been a long time, but at the same time it seems like no time at all. It has been an incredible battle, but because I was finally on the right path it has also been the easiest thing I have ever done. But most importantly, I am a completely different person now compared to four years ago. University has taught me so much more than just my academic course. I am more confident, more skilled across the board, and far more driven than I have ever been. Most importantly I also have a whole crowd of excellent friends who I am more grateful for than anything else the University has given me.

This will be the last post on this blog, as this part of my life has now concluded. Thank you all for reading, those of you who put up with the huge gaps between posts and my occasional drivel. Take care everyone, and follow your dreams.

“Dreams stop being dreams when you make them your goals.”

Single Post Navigation

What do you think?

